Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

After attempts by the media (and some fans alike) to create a wedge between new ‘BFFs’ MADONNA and Taylor Swift comparing their recent videos for Bitch I’m Madonna and Bad Blood and pitting them against each other, the 2 have come out recently to pronounce their continued admiration for each other and even hinting a possible follow-up collaboration after their performance of Ghosttown during the iHeartRadio Music Awards in March.


In an interview with Entertainment Weekly guest editor Andy Cohen, Madonna revealed that she and Taylor were supposed to perform together during Swift’s stop in New Jersey for her 1989 World Tour.

We were actually gonna do something together on stage. I didn’t go to the show because I was rehearsing and I had to shoot a video the next day. I was kinda bummed.

Madonna did not elaborate further on that supposed second on-stage collaboration that never was:

I’m not gonna tell you, because we might still do it. You’re very nosy. You just want to know everything.

Meanwhile, for the September issue of Vanity Fair, Taylor Swift lamented about people’s attempts to pit her Bad Blood video against Bitch I’m Madonna.

“I felt so much resentment that they would take two women who made ambitious music videos and use that as a qualifying factor to comparing and contrasting them.
I hated that because Madonna and I have gotten along and been fans of each other and performed together [at the iHeartRadio Awards in March], and I didn’t want to see that, and there was nothing I could do, and there’s nothing she could do, because that’s the way the world works right now.”

Taylor also recounted how it was backstage with Madonna and how her comments resulted to Her Madgesty sending her a special gift.

She put jewelry on me before we went onstage. When I went into her dressing room, I complimented this candle and this diffuser she had, because her dressing room smelled like a magical woodland forest. A week later, I get this box in the mail, and she had sent me the same diffuser, and all these essential oils, and the exact candle I had complimented.

 

And as if to corroborate what Madonna has suggested, Taylor went on to say:

Madonna and I will collaborate again and then [the media] will realize there was no weird tension or competitive factor.

 

